Medicare is a federal government health insurance program which pays for certain healthcare services and originated from a federal law, title XVIII of the Social Security Act
Medicare is health insurance program for people age 65 or older

1. People age 65 or older,
2. Some people under age 65 with disabilities,
3. People with End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD),which is permanent kidney failure requiring dialysis or a kidney transplant.

Medicare consists of two parts: Part A and Part B 

The Medicare program that covers inpatient hospital stays. Persons who qualify for Medicare receive Part A automatically.
PART A : Part A of the Medicare Program is for inpatient services and hospitals submit Medicare claims to Part A intermediary. Part A benefits include: Hospital stays, Skilled nursing facility, Home health care, Hospice care, or care in a psychiatric hospital.
This is called as technical component
PART B: Persons who qualify for Medicare do not automatically receive Part B. These individuals must purchase Part B. Part B of the Medicare Program is for professional/physician services. This coverage helps pay for medical and surgical services by physicians as well as certain other health benefits such as ambulance transportation, durable medical equipment, outpatient hospital services, and independent laboratory services
Part B called as Professional component.


Medicare + Choice is also called Medicare Managed Care Program, which is offered by private insurance companies under the regulations and guidelines of Medicare. Part C covers all services of Medicare Part A and B plus some additional services. In order to be eligible to buy Part C one must be eligible for Part A and one must necessarily buy Part B. Part C covers services such as hearing aids, eyeglasses, dental services etc.

Popular Posts