Monday, 3 April 2017

ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM Codes

The International Classification of Diseases (ICD) code is one of the most essential pieces of the medical billing and coding process. Created by the World Health Organization (WHO) as a way of standardizing healthcare classification, ICD codes are diagnostic codes that represent all aspects of a medical diagnosis, including symptoms, social circumstances, cause of injury or disease, and more.

ICD-9-CM Tool

To use the ICD-9-CM tool, simply type the name of a disease or injury in the search field. The search engine should then give you the corresponding ICD-9-CM code. You can look up that code in the ICD-9-CM index, available through the CDC. You will have to download a copy and open it as an RTF file.

ICD-10-CM Tool

Use the ICD-10 -CM Tool to search by the name of the disease or injury, or by the code itself. You can then take your search results and use them to find more information on the World Health Organization’s version of ICD-10-CM. Click on the chapter title (like “diseases of the respiratory system”) in the drop-down menu on the left to get a list of code blocks that chapter contains. You can also click the arrow button to the left of the chapter title to navigate the drop-down menu from the sidebar.

Background on the ICD

ICD-9—the ninth revision of the International Classification of Diseases—was published in 1978 by the WHO and adapted for use in America by the NCHS. ICD codes were originally intended to be used for epidemiological purposes, but in the United States these codes are used by healthcare providers and insurance companies for billing and reimbursement.
In America, “CM” stands for “Clinical Modification,” which was instituted in the United States by the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) to provide additional information related to diagnosis and procedural codes. The CM allows for a much wider spectrum of specific information. ICD-9-CM is updated annually on October 1st in order to reflect new diagnoses, practices, and procedures in the healthcare industry.

How the ICD-9-CM Works

ICD codes create a standard vocabulary for identifying causes of illness, injury, and death around the world.
Physical copies of the ICD-9-CM codes are divided into volumes. Volume 1 contains a tabular list of codes (codes listed by number with the diagnosis following the number) and Volume 2 contains an alphabetical list of symptoms and diagnoses. The third volume for each of these contains procedure codes, which are only used by hospitals to report surgeries performed in their facility. Healthcare providers and insurance companies only use the first two volumes. For the purposes of this course, you will be looking up ICD codes entirely online, but it is still helpful to understand the organization of the ICD manuals.
The 5-digit numeric ICD-9-CM codes are organized from 000 to 999 according to the type of disease or injury they describe. For instance, codes in the 320-359 range represent diseases of the nervous system, such as encephalitis or meningitis. Codes 800-999 correspond to injury and poisoning, like dislocation (codes 830-839) or poisoning by drugs, medications, or other biological substances (codes 960-979).
Those first three digits in an ICD-9-CM code describe the general type of injury or disease, and are called the “category.” The category can be followed by a decimal point and up to two other digits, which provide more specific information about the type, location, and severity of the disease or injury. These last two digits are called the subcategory, and allow coders to increase the level of specificity of their report on a disease or injury.
The code 722.52 corresponds to degenerative disc disease of the lumbar, where:
  • The 3-digit code, or category, “722” corresponds to “intervertebral disc disorders” in the list of diseases and injuries
    • The two-digit sub-subcategories refers to degenerative disc disease, lumbar
Generally speaking, the more digits in a code, the more specific the type, cause, and/or area of injury or disease.
There are also two sets of alphanumeric codes in ICD-9-CM. E-codes describe external causes of injury, while V-codes describe factors that influence health status and/or describe interactions with health services. An example of an e-code would be E905.2, which describes a scorpion sting causing poisoning and toxic reactions. An example of a V-code is V30.00, which describes a single live infant (V30) born in a hospital (V30.0) without mention of caesarean section (V30.00). Like the numeric codes in ICD-9-CM, each of these codes has varying degrees of specificity based on the incident.


  1. Hello, Thanks for sharing your informative blog. I really appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your further write ups.
    Also Visit :

  2. Thank you for sharing such valuable topic with us , really it is very interesting.
    Medical Coding Hyderabad

  3. good post. I just read your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts.Keep update with your blogs..

    Medical coding training


Popular Posts